Anant Agarwal Awarded The Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education

Anant Agarwal
- Advertisement -

NEW YORK – Anant Agarwal, the CEO of edX and MIT Professor, along with two others, have been awarded the 2016 Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education.

Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize honors innovation and has become one of the most prestigious educational awards since its founding in 1988. The Prize recognizes outstanding individuals who have dedicated themselves to improving education through new approaches and whose accomplishments are making a difference today. Honorees receive an award of $50,000.

The 2016 winners are:

Anant Agarwal-edxAnant Agarwal, CEO of edX and MIT Professor, will receive the U.S. Higher Education prize as an outstanding leader of the development of the Massive Open Online Course movement, which has helped make possible the education of millions of students around the world.

Alberto M. Carvalho, Superintendent of the Miami-Dade school district, will receive the U.S. K-12 prize for his exemplary leadership in raising standards and improving graduation rates in a complex urban district, which is an outstanding model for others.

Sakena Yacoobi, CEO of the Afghan Institute of Learning, will receive the International Education prize for the transformational effect her work has had on communities in Afghanistan, particularly in education for girls and women, and how she has inspired others to follow suit.

“These three winners are extraordinary educational leaders who will inspire the next generation of learners around the world,” said Harold (Terry) McGraw III, former Chairman and CEO of The McGraw-Hill Companies. “We are proud to have them join the other illustrious recipients of the McGraw Prize in Education.”

“Anant, Alberto, and Sakena have changed the lives of millions of students,” said David Levin, president and CEO of McGraw-Hill Education. “Their accomplishments and innovation should be lauded and shared with others who are working to make a difference around the world.”

The Prize dinner and ceremony will be held at the ASU GSV Education Innovation Summit in San Diego on April 19, 2016.

“ASU is proud to be a part of this partnership that honors outstanding innovators in education,” said Dr. Michael Crow, president of Arizona State University. “From increasing access to education to incorporating technology in the classroom, this year’s winners have tackled some of the biggest challenges facing educators around the globe. Each of them provides an example of success from which we all can learn.”

The Prize has undergone significant changes this year as part of a new alliance between McGraw-Hill Education and ASU. This year, for the first time, the public had the opportunity to submit nominations by visiting Over 200 public nominations were submitted and considered alongside those outstanding individuals identified by the Prize’s dedicated research group.

The winners were chosen by Terry McGraw, David Levin and Michael Crow from a list of three people in each category who had been selected by a group of notable jurors, including former McGraw Prize winners.

The jurors were:

(*indicates past McGraw Prize winner)

K-12 Education:
•Yvonne Chan* – Founder and Principal, Vaughn Next Century Learning Center
•Mark Edwards* – Superintendent, Mooresville, NC School District
•Nancy Grasmick* – Co-Director, Kennedy Krieger Institute; Presidential Scholar, Towson University
•Gerry House* – President, Institute for Student Achievement
•Linda Roberts – National Consultant, Senior Adviser, and Board Director

Higher Education:
•Richard DeMillo – Executive Director, Center for 21st Century Universities, Georgia Tech
•Robert Feldman – Deputy Chancellor, University of Massachusetts Amherst
•Freeman Hrabowski* – President, The University of Maryland, Baltimore County
•Diana Natalicio* – President, The University of Texas at El Paso
•Jeff Selingo – Author, Columnist, and Speaker
•Philip Uri Treisman – Executive Director, The Charles A. Dana Center, The University of Texas at Austin

International Education:
•Valeria Brabata – Program Director for Latin America & the Caribbean, Global Fund for Women
•Edward Byrne – President and Principal, King’s College London
•Sir Malcolm Grant – Chairman of NHS England; Chancellor, University of York
•Ian Jacobs – President and Vice-Chancellor, University of New South Wales
•Mike Keppell – Pro Vice-Chancellor of Learning Transformations, Swinburne University of Technology
•David Noel Ramirez Padilla – Rector, Tecnologico de Monterrey
•Andreas Schleicher* – Director for the Directorate of Education and Skills, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
•Pramath Raj Sinha – Founder and Trustee, Ashoka University, India

For updates on the Prize and news from past winners, follow the conversation at #McGrawPrize.

McGraw-Hill Education is a learning science company that delivers personalized learning experiences that help students, parents, educators and professionals improve results. McGraw-Hill Education has offices across North America, India, China, Europe, the Middle East and South America, and makes its learning solutions available in nearly 60 languages. Visit us at or find us on Facebook or Twitter.
Arizona State University has developed a new model for the American Research University, creating an institution that is committed to excellence, access, and impact. ASU measures itself by those it includes, not by those it excludes. ASU pursues research that contributes to the public good, and ASU assumes major responsibility for the economic, social, and cultural vitality of the communities that surround it. Under the direction of its president Dr. Michael Crow, ASU has emerged as one of the most progressive global education institutions worldwide.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here