Big B, Deepika named Best Actors at Stardust Awards

Deepika Padukone (Photo Facebook)
- Advertisement -

MUMBAI– Amitabh Bachchan’s performance in “Shamitabh” and Deepika Padukone’s work in “Piku” won them the Best Actors of the Year honour at the Sansui COLORS Stardust Awards here.

StardustThe star-studded event, at the Reliance Jio Gardens here on Monday night, which saw superstar Salman Khan-starrer “Bajrangi Bhaijaan” win three awards – it was named the Best Film of the Year; won the Best Director of the Year for Kabir Khan; and Harshali Malhotra took home the Breakthrough Performance by a Child Artist honour.

The Filmmaker of the Year title was shared by two women — Meghna Gulzar for “Talvar” and Shonali Bose for “Margarita With A Straw”.

Shefali Shah and Anil Kapoor won the Best Actors in Supporting Roles Award for their performance as husband and wife in “Dil Dhadakne Do”; Randeep Hooda emerged as the winner in the Best Actor in Negative Role category for “Main Aur Charles”; Kartik Aaryan won the Best Actor in Comic Role title for “Pyaar Ka Punchnama 2”; the Best Debut – Female Award was deservingly received by Bhoomi Pednekar for “Dum Laga Ke Haisha”, and Sooraj Pancholi’s “Hero” act won him the Best Debut – Male Award.

Veteran actor Jeetendra was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award; actress Zeenat Aman was rewarded with Timeless Diva award; and actress Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, who made her comeback in showbiz with “Jazbaa” was awarded with the Power-packed Performer of the Year.

Deepika Padukone (Photo Facebook)
Deepika Padukone (Photo Facebook)

Actress Parineeti Chopra, who has slimmed down a lot, was named the Style Icon Of The Year, while the young and talented Varun Dhawan was appreciated with the Sansui Entertainer of the Year Award.

The Best Costume Design award went to Niharika Khan for her period-inspired work in “Bombay Velvet”.

As for the Best Screenplay category, Varun Grover walked away with the honour for “Masaan”; while Sriram Raghavan and Arijit Biswas were feted with the Best Story trophy for “Badlapur”.

In terms of the song categories, the Best Lyricist was once given to Varun Grover for “Masaan” again. The Best Playback Singer – Female went to Palak Muchhal for “Prem ratan dhan payo”, and among the men, Armaan Malik got it for the track “Hero”. The Best Music Director Award was given to the versatile Amit Trivedi for “Shaandaar”, and the Best Music Album went to “Roy”.

The Best Choreographer Award was given to Remo D’Souza for his dance-based film “ABCD 2”.

The red carpet of the gala witnessed the presence Amitabh Bachchan, Shah Rukh Khan, Kajol, Salman Khan, Anil Kapoor, Ranveer Singh, Sonam Kapoor, Alia Bhatt, Jacqueline Fernandez, Shahid Kapoor, Parineeti Chopra, Richa Chaddha and Nimrat Kaur. Even power couple Nita and Mukesh Ambani came together to applaud the cinematic achievements of Bollywood in 2015.

Shah Rukh, Kajol, Alia, Shahid and Ranveer staged stupendous performances, and the entertainment quotient was taken to another level by Riteish Deshmukh and Farah Khan. Other hosts who kept the audiences in splits included Nimrat Kaur, Manish Paul and Krushna Abhishek.

The event will be televised on January 10 next year on COLORS!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here