American Marketing Association Bestows Lifetime Achievement Award to Dartmouth Professor Praveen Kopalle

Praveen Kopalle
- Advertisement -

HANOVER, NH— Professor Praveen Kopalle, who is chaired Professor of Marketing at the Tuck School of Business, Dartmouth College, recently received the 2018 lifetime achievement award from the American Marketing Association for his prolific and influential contributions in retailing.

The nominating committee was comprised of renowned scholars who were unanimous in selecting Prof.  Kopalle for the award. The committee members included: Dhruv Grewal, Toyota Chair in Commerce and Electronic Business, Babson College; Jeff Inman, Albert Wesley Frey Professor, University of Pittsburgh; Barbara Kahn, Patty and Jay H. Baker Professor, University of Pennsylvania; Kristy Reynolds, Bruno Professor of Marketing, The University of Alabama; and Anne Roggeveen, Charles Clarke Reynolds Professor of Retailing & Marketing, Babson College.

The committee noted his prolific research record, contributions in retailing, and award-winning papers.  The following excerpt is from a nomination letter that highlights many of these achievements:

“[Praveen] has published many significant papers in the retailing field. His research has been recognized by the leading marketing journals and he has received numerous awards, such as: Finalist, 2015 INFORMS Society on Marketing Long Term Impact Award, Winner, 2014 William R. Davidson Award, Journal of Retailing, Finalist, 2011 Marketing Science Institute’s Robert Buzzell Award, Winner, 2011 William R. Davidson Honorable mention award, Journal of Retailing, Finalist, 2006 John D. C. Little Best Paper Award, Winner, 2005 John D. C. Little Best Paper Award, and Winner, MSI Competition on Global Marketing, 2003.”

Prof. Kopalle received his Ph.D. from Columbia University, MBA from Indian Institute of Management, Bangalore, and B.E. from Osmania University.  Professor Kopalle’s teaching and research interests are in Marketing, Statistics, Pricing, new products/innovation, promotions, customer expectations, and e-commerce.

He serves as an Associate Editor at the Journal of Marketing and Journal of Retailing. In addition, he is on the editorial boards of Marketing Science, Journal of Marketing Research, Journal of Consumer Research, Marketing Letters, and Journal of Interactive Marketing.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here