President Barack Obama to Keynote the APAICS 22nd Annual Awards Gala Dinner


WASHINGTON — President Barack Obama will be the keynote speaker during the Asian Pacific American Institute for Congressional Studies’ (APAICS) 22nd Annual Awards Gala Dinner. The event takes place Wednesday, May 4, 2016, at 6:30pm ET at the Washington Hilton.

President Obama
President Obama

“It means so much that President Obama will be joining us at this year’s APAICS Gala,” said Rep. Judy Chu (D-CA), chair of the Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus and APAICS board member. “Whether keeping families together through his immigration executive actions, expanding healthcare to millions through the Affordable Care Act, promoting diverse candidates to the federal bench, or putting our economy back on the path to success, President Obama has been there for the Asian American and Pacific Islander community. We look forward to thanking the President for his leadership and honoring his legacy at this year’s gala, and welcome the opportunity to celebrate with him in May.”

The APAICS Annual Awards Gala Dinner is the premier event in Washington celebrating Asian Pacific American Heritage Month with Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) stakeholders, community and business leaders, and the largest gathering of AAPI local, state and federal elected officials and appointees from across the country.

“It is an honor to have President Barack Obama participate in the 22nd Annual APAICS Awards Gala Dinner and share his legacy with the Asian American and Pacific Islander community,” said S. Floyd Mori, president and CEO of APAICS. “President Obama has demonstrated his commitment to the AAPI community and shares our determination in developing future opportunities for AAPI leaders.”

The evening program recognizes individuals and organizations for their contributions to the empowerment and advancement of Asian American and Pacific Islander community. The 2016 honorees are Congressman Xavier Becerra — Lifetime Achievement Award; Aziz Ansari & Alan Yang — Vision Award; and Toyota — Corporate Achievement Award.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here